

# TRACK RACING INFORMATION - 17.1

#### **NEW ITEMS FOR 2017**

#### Sound Controls for Grass Track:

250 & 350cc Solo machines can use <u>2010 or any FIM Homologated Silencer</u>, 500cc Solo can use <u>2010 or later FIM Homologated licencers</u>.

#### **Huggers**

If 'Huggers' are fitted to a Solo machine, they must comply with FIM rules and be <u>mechanically</u> fitted to the machine (e.g. nuts and bolts not cable/zip ties).

#### Licences and Insurance Fees:

**GREAT NEWS** – There is NO increase to ACU licence or insurance fees for 2017. However Medical Repatriation insurance has increased by approx. 5%.

#### Alternative Roping System:

The 'Alternative Roping' system **WILL NOT** be allowed to be used as part of the safety barrier system for any ACU Championship event in 2017. Any club wanting to use the 'Alternative Roping' system for <u>any</u> event must first apply to the ACU TRC stating the reasons for its use.

#### Gold Star Awards 2016

250cc: Tim Greig 350cc: Martin Williams 500cc Sidecar: Mitch Godden / Paul Smith

1000cc Left Hand Sidecar: Martin Cuff / Colin Clark

#### Youth Classes as from 1<sup>st</sup> January 2017

> Auto / Cadet

Age 6-8: 50cc Auto/up to 65cc 2 stroke

> Junior

Age 9-11: up to 100cc 2 stroke/150cc 4 stroke

> Intermediate

Age 13-17: up to 150cc 2 stroke/ 250cc 4 stroke

#### Technical Issues:

Random checks for fuel additives will be taken throughout the season, with air filters also being subject to random testing.

#### **2016 ACU British Grass Track Champions**

#### 2016 British Grass Track Champions:

250cc - Jed Collins

350cc – Tom Perry

500cc Sidecar – Joshua Goodwin / Liam Brown

1000cc Left Hand Sidecar – Will Penfold / Ricky Pay

#### **British Masters Open Championship:**

Solo – James Shanes

1000cc Sidecar - Rod Winterburn / Billy Winterburn

#### **British Master Clubman's Champions:**

500cc Solo - Charley Powell

1000cc Sidecar - Rod Winterburn / Billy Winterburn

#### **British Sand Race Champions:**

Solo - James Shanes

Sidecar - Rod Winterburn / Billy Winterburn

#### Pre 75 Champions:

250cc - Giles Dismore

350cc - Chris Mackett

500cc - Dave Hammond

#### **Upright Champions:**

250cc - Steve Carvill

350cc - Luke Harris

500cc - Stephen Green

#### **Brian Stibbs Trophy Winners:**

Mark Cossar & Carl Blyth

#### **Jim Rendall Trophy Winner:**

**James Shanes** 

#### Youth Championships:

Auto Cadet – Cooper Rushen, Cadet – Max Perry Junior – Harry McGurk, Intermediate – Charlie Brooks Senior A – Luke Harris Senior B – Connor Locke Junior 65 MX – Luke Harrison,

Junior 85 MX - Tegan Brown

## CONGRATULATIONS – JAMES SHANES 2016 EUROPEAN GRASS TRACK CHAMPION



Congratulations to victorious ACU rider – James Shanes – on becoming the 2016 European Individual Grass Track Champion at the European Final held at Swingfield last September (organised by ASTRA). FIM Team GB team mate Andrew Appleton joined James on the podium to take the 3<sup>rd</sup> place bronze medal. This was a fantastic brilliant achievement to have two Brits on the podium in a European Championship Final, staged on home soil

#### 2017 ACU CHAMPIONSHIP EVENTS







The ACU Track Racing Committee are pleased to announce the following dates and organisers for the various 2017 ACU championship events:

- Upright Champ'ships MCPMCC 07 May
- British Under 21 Cheshire GTC 14 May
- ACU International Sand Race Champ Guernsey June 24
- Pre 75 Championships Cheshire GTC 23 July
- British Clubman's Champ Pickering & DMCC 30 July
- British Championships Ledbury MCC 02 Sept
- British Masters ASTRA MCC 10 September
- British Youth 500cc Sidecar Assc. 08 October







#### FIME EUROPEAN SIDECAR GRASS TRACK SEMI FINAL

Wimborne MCC, together with the ACU will be hosting the FIME European Sidecar Semi Final at Merley Hall Farm, Willett Road, Corfe Mullen on 3<sup>rd</sup> / 4<sup>th</sup> June 2017.

The event will guarantee spectators a top class line-up of Europe's best Sidecar teams, all of whom will be aiming to get through to the Final in Tayac on 1<sup>st</sup> July 2017. For more information nearer the event, log onto <a href="https://www.acu.org.uk">www.acu.org.uk</a>

### **2017 NEW TRACK RACING COMMITTEE LINE UP**

At the first meeting of 2017, on Saturday 14<sup>th</sup> January, the ACU Track Racing Committee Chairman Dickie Staff welcomed two new members to his team. Tony Steele and Shaun Harvey will both join the existing Committee for an initial term of three years each. This follows the rather sad departure of Peter Gregory and Dick Sullivan.

Current ACU Track Racing Chairman – Dickie Staff commented 'I know that the rest of the ACU Track Racing Committee will join me in thanking both Peter and Dick for their hard work and dedication to the sport of Track Racing over a collective period of 40 years plus. They will both be a very hard act to follow as both gentleman had specific skills and knowledge which will be hard to replace. We wish them all the best in the future'.

The 2017 Track Racing Committee comprises of: **Dickie Staff** (Chairman) **Paul Hurry** (Vice Chairman), **Mick Stace**, **Steve Brace**, **Shaun Harvey**, **Tony Steele** and **Tony Noel** (Honorary Chairman) all ably supported by Committee Secretary **Tracey Cossar** 

Please Note: Tear-offs used in Track Racing must be rounded.

<u>Upright & Pre 75 Classes.</u> Jane Hammond is to compile a list of riders contact details for organisers, anyone wishing to be included should contact Jane via email: <u>jaurb241@googlemail.com</u>